Advisory Board

The Gorgon Barrow Island Net Conservation Benefits Advisory Board reviews all funding proposals, oversees the management of the fund (which is administered by the WA Department of Parks and Wildlife), recommends new projects to the Minister for Environment, and approves budgets for established projects based on their reported progress. The Minister has appointed three members to the Advisory Board.


Andrew Burbidge

Dr Andrew Burbidge AO, who has chaired the Board since its inception, is a conservation biologist.  Until 2002 he worked for a series of State conservation agencies as a research scientist, manager and director. He is currently chair of the WA Threatened Species Scientific Committee and of the Gorgon Quarantine Expert Panel.  He continues to work, part-time, as a consulting conservation biologist.



Brian Wills-JohnsonBrian Wills-Johnson is a former business journalist and corporate affairs specialist.  He has served as a Governor and Board member of WWF Australia, chairman of the Board of St George’s College, Hon Sec and deputy chairman of the National Trust (WA), and is a Fellow of the Public Relations Institute of Australia.  He is currently a full-time M.Phil. candidate at The University of Western Australia.



Russell LagdonRussell Lagdon
is Environment Manager for Chevron Australia Pty Ltd, the project operator for the Gorgon Joint Venture.  He has been with Chevron (previously West Australian Petroleum) for more than 30 years, leading the environmental assessment and approvals process for the Gorgon LNG project on Barrow Island.



Deputy members of the Board provide back-up and continuity.  They comprise Prof. Sue Moore (Murdoch University) and Prof. Nigel de Bussy (Curtin University) and, from time to time, a nominee of Chevron Australia.

Dr Stuart Field, Principal Policy Officer to the Director General of the Department of Parks and Wildlife, is Executive Officer of the Board.