The Gorgon Barrow Island Net Conservation Benefits Advisory Board reviews all funding proposals, oversees the management of the fund (which is administered by the WA Department of Biodiversity Conservation and Attractions), recommends new projects to the Minister for Environment, and recommends budgets for established projects based on their reported progress. The Minister appoints three members to the Advisory Board and also appoints deputy members who can act when a Board member is unavailable.

Dr Andrew Burbidge AO

Dr Andrew Burbidge, who has chaired the Board since its inception, is a conservation biologist.  Until 2002 he worked for a series of State conservation agencies as a research scientist, manager and director. He is currently chair of the WA Threatened Species Scientific Committee and of the Gorgon Quarantine Expert Panel.  He continues to work, part-time, as a consulting conservation biologist.

Brian Wills-Johnson, M.Phil.

Brian Wills-Johnson is a former business journalist and corporate affairs specialist.  He has served as a Governor and Board member of WWF Australia,chairman of the Board of St George’s College, Hon Sec and deputy chairman of the National Trust (WA), and is a Fellow of the Public Relations Institute of Australia.

Johann van der Merwe

Johann van der Merwe is Quarantine Manager for Chevron Australia Pty Ltd, the project operator for the Gorgon Joint Venture.

Dr Kelly Waples

Dr Kelly Waples is the Principal Research Scientist to the Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions, is Executive Officer of the Board.

Deputy members of the Board provide back-up and continuity.  They comprise Dr Trevor Ward, marine biologist (appointed as Deputy Chair) and Prof. Nigel de Bussy (Pro Vice-Chancellor, Faculty of Business and Law, Curtin University) and, from time to time, a nominee of Chevron Australia.